New Measures to Reduce Water Pollution of Trace Organic Compounds in Urban Rainwater Runoff – Two Novel Technologies and a Planning Guideline (SpuR)

In urban areas, rainwater run-off can be contaminated by trace organic compounds such as biocides, plasticizers and flame retardents. During rain events, these substances are washed off from building surfaces such as façades and roofs as well as from traffic areas. Depending on weather conditions and urban structure, these pollutants are often discharged directly into surface waters via the rainwater drainage system without prior treatment.

Based on findings from other projects of KWB (BaSaR, OgRe), the SpuR project will investigate strategies and specific technical measures leading to a reduction of such entries.

  • Application of new façade coatings to reduce pollution “at the source”:
    On the façade of a building, a new paint product developed by Brillux, a company involved in the project, is applied in parallel to a conventional product. This coating does not contain the slowly degradable algicides used in conventional film protection (half-life 50 – 100 days). Instead, rapidly degradable active substances are used, which nevertheless ensure the long-term protection of the façade through a special encapsulation. A monitoring programme investigates the reduction of the environmental impact of this new façade coating in comparison to the conventional product.
  • Use of new filter materials for rainwater treatment as “end-of-pipe technology”
    A new adsorber technology was developed by the company Funke (project partner) which is capable to retain dissolved organic trace compounds in addition to solids and heavy metals. The technology will be applied under real conditions in a decentralised rainwater treatment unit installed in an urban environment. The retention of relevant pollutants will be quantified.

Furthermore, the project will develop a planning framework for urban rainwater management which is to be kept as general as possible. Components include profiles of relevant measures as well as an easily applicable load model for pollution assessment of an urban catchment area to be performed with and without the planned actions. The entire procedure will be summarized in a guideline. The profiles of measures contain data on the load reduction potential at catchment level, feasibility and costs. The guideline is supposed to facilitate the selection of suitable measures (combinations) to cope with specific target substances or load situations, taking into account ecology and economic efficiency. The guideline will be used as an example in a specific surface water catchment in Berlin.

The SpuR project is being funded by the German Federal Environmental Foundation (DBU) for two years under the headline “Development of a façade protection system featuring minimised biocide content and a rainwater treatment unit with adsorber mixture to reduce the entry of trace organic compounds from urban areas into surface water“.

 

© Header Photo : Andreas FranzXaver Süß

Project partners

Financing

Neue Maßnahmen zur Reduzierung der Gewässerbelastung durch Spurenstoffe aus urbanem Regenwasserabfluss – Zwei innovative Technologien und ein Planungsleitfaden (SpuR)

In urbanen Gebieten kann abfließendes Niederschlagswasser durch organische Spurenstoffe, beispielsweise Biozide, Weichmacher und Flammschutzmittel, belastet sein. Diese Substanzen werden bei Regen von Gebäudeoberflächen wie beispielsweise Fassaden und Dächern sowie von Verkehrsflächen abgewaschen und können in Abhängigkeit von Witterung und Stadtstruktur über die Regenwasserkanalisation unbehandelt in die Gewässer gelangen.

Auf Grundlage von Erkenntnissen aus anderen Vorhaben des KWB (BaSaR, OgRe) sollen im Vorhaben SpuR Strategien und konkrete technische Maßnahmen untersucht werden, mit denen solche Einträge verringert werden können.

  • Anwendung von neuen Fassadenanstrichen zur Schadstoffreduzierung „an der Quelle“:
    Auf die Fassade eines Gebäudes wird ein neues Farbprodukt des am Projekt beteiligten Unternehmens Brillux parallel zu einem konventionellen Produkt aufgetragen. Bei dieser Farbe wird auf die im konventionellen Filmschutz eingesetzten, langsam abbaubaren Algizide (Halbwertszeit 50 – 100 Tage) verzichtet. Stattdessen werden schnell abbaubare Wirksubstanzen eingesetzt, die durch eine spezielle Verkapselung trotzdem einen langzeitigen Schutz der Fassade gewährleisten. In einem Monitoringprogramm wird die Umweltentlastung dieser neuen Fassadenbeschichtung im Vergleich mit der konventionellen Beschichtung untersucht.
  • Anwendung von neuen Filtermaterialien zur Behandlung von Regenwasser als „End-Of-Pipe-Technologie“:
    Mit einer neuen Adsorbertechnologie der Firma Funke (Projektpartner) können neben Feststoffen und Metallen auch gelöste organische Spurenstoffe zurückgehalten werden. Die Technologie soll im städtischen Bereich unter Realbedingungen in einer dezentralen Anlage zur Regenwasserbehandlung eingesetzt und der Stoffrückhalt quantifiziert werden.

Weiterhin wird im Projekt eine möglichst allgemeingültige Planungssystematik für die urbane Regenwasserbewirtschaftung entwickelt. Bausteine sind Maßnahmensteckbriefe sowie eine einfach anwendbare Frachtmodellierung zur Belastungseinschätzung in einem städtischen Einzugsgebiet mit und ohne geplante Maßnahmen. Das ganze wird in einem Leitfaden zusammengefasst. Die Steckbriefe enthalten Angaben zum Entlastungspotenzial auf Einzugsgebietsebene, Umsetzbarkeit und Kosten. Der Leitfaden soll unter Berücksichtigung von Ökologie und Wirtschaftlichkeit auch die Auswahl geeigneter Maßnahmen(-kombinationen) für bestimmte Zielsubstanzen oder Belastungssituationen ermöglichen. Exemplarisch angewendet werden soll der Leitfaden in einem konkreten Gewässereinzugsgebiet in Berlin.

Das Projekt SpuR wird von der Deutschen Bundesstiftung Umwelt für 2 Jahre unter dem Titel „Entwicklung eines biozidminimierten Fassadenschutzsystems und einer Regenwasserbehandlung mit Adsorbergemisch zur Reduzierung von Spurenstoffeinträgen aus urbanem Raum in die Gewässer“ gefördert.

 

© Header-Foto : Andreas FranzXaver Süß

Projektpartner

Finanzierung