Smart Framework for Real-time Monitoring and Control of Subsurface Processes in Managed Aquifer Recharge Applications (SMART-Control)

Smart framework for real-time monitoring and control of subsurface processes in managed aquifer recharge (MAR) applications

Managed aquifer recharge (MAR) is a cost-effective method that can and already does make an important contribution to a resilient and adaptable water supply through the infiltration and storage of water in the geological subsurface and subsequent recovery through wells. However, the geological, technical and organisational frameworks in which MAR operates are diverse, and so are the risks associated with the planning, implementation and operation of MAR facilities.

The main objective of the project is to reduce the risks of MAR with web-based monitoring and control systems. The test sites of the project are located in Germany, France, Cyprus and Brazil and are operated under very different hydrogeological, climatic and socio-economic conditions. At the respective sites, the aim is, among other things, to increase water availability in urban areas, reduce risks of salinisation from seawater intrusion in coastal aquifers and increase adaptability to extreme climate events.

Schematic overview of MAR components at Berlin-Spandau.

Schematic overview of MAR components at Berlin-Spandau.

The Spandau waterworks serves as a case study in Berlin. Here, in order to increase the local groundwater supply and support groundwater-dependent ecosystems, pre-treated water from the Havel River is recharged to the groundwater via infiltration basins. In the project, a newly installed monitoring system consisting of online sensor data and an evaluation in a web-based software tool could be implemented. By combining online data with processing tools, it was possible to calculate hydraulic retention times during groundwater recharge.

In the project, the Kompetenzzentrum Wasser Berlin used an already existing quantitative microbiological risk assessment (QMRA) for groundwater recharge and integrated it into the INOWAS platform. The QMRA is now available in a browser environment.

Furthermore, for the first time in Berlin, bacteriological measurements could be carried out directly in the groundwater using automatic flow cytometry. In addition to other measurements such as meta-genomic DNA sequencing and classical microbial cultivation-based analysis, cytometry provided quantitative evidence of microbial dynamics along the flow path from the seepage basin to the extraction well.

A cost-neutral extension of 12 months extends the project duration until 31.01.2022.

Copyright scheme: Sprenger, C., Panagiotou, K., Fernandes, L., Duzan, A., Baptista, V. and Glass, J. (2020) Matrix of risks and remediation measures  – Risks and remediation measures at different stages of MAR site development. Deliverable 2.1.

 

 

Publications

Selected publications produced in the DWC project are available here.

 

Picture: Groundwater infiltration basin waterworks Berlin-Spandau (© KWB)

 

Project partners

Financing

Neue Verfahren zur Überwachung und Kontrolle von Prozessen der Grundwasseranreicherung (SMART-Control)

Die gezielte Grundwasseranreicherung (engl. Managed Aquifer Recharge – MAR) ist ein kostengünstiges Verfahren, das durch die Infiltration und Speicherung von Wasser im geologischen Untergrund und der anschließenden Rückgewinnung durch Brunnen einen wichtigen Beitrag zu einer resilienten und anpassungsfähigen Wasserversorgung leisten kann und bereits jetzt leistet. Die geologischen, technischen und organisatorischen Rahmenbedingen, in denen MAR betrieben wird, sind jedoch vielfältig und es können ebenso vielfältige Risiken bei der Planung, bei der Umsetzung und dem Betrieb von MAR-Anlagen auftreten.

Das Hauptziel des Projektes besteht darin, die Risiken von MAR mit web-basierten Monitoring- und Kontrollsystemen zu verringern. Die Versuchsstandorte des Projektes sind in Deutschland, Frankreich, Zypern und Brasilien und werden unter sehr unterschiedlichen hydrogeologischen, klimatischen und sozio-ökonomischen Bedingungen betrieben. An den jeweiligen Standorten soll u.a. die Wasserverfügbarkeit im urbanen Raum erhöht, Risiken der Versalzung durch eindringendes Meerwasser in küstennahen Grundwasserleitern reduziert und Anpassungsfähigkeit an extreme Klimaereignisse vorangetrieben werden.

Schematic overview of MAR components at Berlin-Spandau.

Schematic overview of MAR components at Berlin-Spandau.

Als Fallstudie in Berlin dient das Wasserwerk Spandau. Hier wird, um das örtliche Grundwasserdargebot zu erhöhen und grundwasserabhängige Ökosysteme zu unterstützen, vorbehandeltes Wasser aus der Havel über Sickerbecken dem Grundwasser zugeführt. Im Projekt konnte bisher ein neu installiertes Monitoring System, bestehend aus Online-Sensordaten und einer Auswertung in einem webbasierten Softwaretool, realisiert werden. Durch die Kombination von Online-Daten mit Verarbeitungswerkzeugen war es möglich, hydraulische Verweilzeiten bei der gezielten Grundwasseranreicherung zu berechnen.

Das Kompetenzzentrum Wasser Berlin hat im Projekt eine bereits bestehende quantitative mikrobiologische Risikoauswertung (QMRA) für die gezielte Grundwasseranreicherung genutzt und in die INOWAS Plattform integriert. Die QMRA steht nun in einer Browser-Umgebung zur Verfügung.

Des Weiteren konnten erstmals in Berlin bakteriologische Messungen mithilfe einer automatischen Durchflusszytometrie direkt im Grundwasser durchgeführt werden. Neben weiteren Messungen wie z.B. meta-genomischer DNA-Sequenzierung und klassischer mikrobieller kultivierungsbasierter Analyse, konnte mit der Zytometrie ein quantitativer Nachweis mikrobieller Dynamik entlang des Fließweges vom Versickerungsbecken zum Entnahmebrunnen gewonnen werden.

Eine kostenneutrale Verlängerung um 12 Monate verlängert die Projektlaufzeit bis zum 31.01.2022.

Copyright Schema: Sprenger, C., Panagiotou, K., Fernandes, L., Duzan, A., Baptista, V. and Glass, J. (2020) Matrix of risks and remediation measures  – Risks and remediation measures at different stages of MAR site development. Deliverable 2.1.

 

 

Publikationen

Eine Auswahl an Projekt-Publikationen ist über diesen LINK abrufbar.

 

Bild: Grundwasseranreicherungsbecken Wasserwerk Berlin-Spandau (© KWB)

Projektpartner

Finanzierung