Optimisation of Sewer Inspection and Rehabilitation Strategies (RELIABLE SEWER)

Improving the reliability of current sewer deterioration modelling approaches

Wastewater infrastructures including collection pipes and treatment facilities represent enormous investments in physical assets. The replacement value of these assets amounts to millions of euros for every major city but also small municipalities. During the last 30 years, most municipalities have invested in sewer system expansion to meet growth and treatment plant upgrade but a relatively small proportion of the budget has been allocated to sewer rehabilitation. As a result, most cities face an aging infrastructure in extensive and emerging need of repair, rehabilitation or renewal.

RELIABLE SEWER aims to develop a panel of prototypes to support municipalities in the definition of sewer inspection and rehabilitation strategies. It will allow utilities to tackle sewer aging and network deterioration and to optimise the use of financial resources. In particular, the tools will help utilities to choose where and when to inspect sewers and to estimate the necessary investment need to cope with sewer system deterioration.

RELIABLE SEWER will also improve the reliability of current sewer deterioration modelling approaches. It includes the consideration of repair and renovation measures in investment simulations, the estimation of uncertainties in budget forecasts and the optimisation of asset management scenarios in order to identify the most appropriate balance between replacement, renovation and repair measures.
Finally, RELIABLE SEWER will demonstrate the benefits and potential costs savings obtained from the use of deterioration modelling on three case studies located in Germany, in Bulgaria and in the USA.

 

© header photo: photocase.de, Rüdiger Wittmann

Financing

More information

  • 5th EURO-SAM Workshop in Innsbruck, Austria

    11 – 12 June 2018

    University Innsbruck, Palais Claudiana, Herzog-Friedrich-Straße 3, 6020 Innsbruck, Austria

    The 5th edition of the EURO-SAM workshop will be hosted by University of Innsbruck. Similar to the last years, this 2-days workshop aims to gather European researchers working on the topic of Sewer Asset Management in order to share recent research results and to facilitate collaborations. As always, the workshop is free of charge and open to any researcher. Workshop language is English.

RELIABLE SEWER – Optimierung von Kanalinspektions- und Sanierungsmaßnahmen

Verbesserung der Zuverlässigkeit von aktuell verfügbaren Kanalalterungsmodellen

Abwasserinfrastrukturen einschließlich Kanalnetze und Behandlungsanlagen verursachen enorme Investitionen. Großstädte als auch kleine Gemeinden geben Millionen Euro für die Erneuerung dieser Vermögenswerte aus. In den vergangenen 30 Jahren haben die meisten Gemeinden im Zuge des Bevölkerungsanstiegs in den Ausbau der Kanalisation investiert und Kläranlagen nachgerüstet. Auf die Sanierung des Netzes entfiel hingegen nur ein relativ geringer Teil des Budgets. Folglich sind die meisten Städte mit einer alternden Infrastruktur konfrontiert, die in hohem Maße reparatur-, sanierungs- oder erneuerungsbedürftig ist.

Das Projekt “RELIABLE SEWER” zielt darauf ab,  geeignete Werkzeuge zu entwickeln, um Kommunen und Entsorgungsunternehmen bei der Definition von Inspektions- und Sanierungsstrategien zu unterstützen. Damit werden sie in der Lage sein, die Abnutzung der Kanalnetze anzugehen und darüber hinaus zu einer optimierten Nutzung der finanziellen Ressourcen zu kommen. Mithilfe der im Projekt entwickelten Werkzeuge können die Inspektionsstrategien unterstützt werden sowie Art und Umfang der Investitionen definiert werden, um den Abnutzung der Kanalnetze zeitnah entgegenzutreten.

RELIABLE SEWER wird die Zuverlässigkeit der aktuell verfügbaren Kanalalterungsmodelle verbessern, wobei Reparatur- und Sanierungsmaßnahmen für Investitionssimulationen Berücksichtigung finden. Damit können Unsicherheiten bei Budgetprognosen abgeschätzt, Szenarien für das Asset Managements verbessert und optimale Entscheidungen im Hinblick auf Ersatz-, Renovierungs- und Reparaturmaßnahmen getroffen werden. Anhand von drei Fallstudien in Deutschland, Bulgarien und den USA demonstriert RELIABLE SEWER den Nutzen sowie Einsparpotenziale, die sich aus dem Einsatz der Kanalalterungsmodelle ergeben

 

 

 

© Header-Foto: photocase.de, Rüdiger Wittmann

Finanzierung

Mehr Informationen

  • 5. EURO-SAM Workshop in Innsbruck

    11. – 12. Juni 2018

    University Innsbruck, Palais Claudiana, Herzog-Friedrich-Straße 3, 6020 Innsbruck, Austria

    Der 5. EURO-SAM Workshop wird von der Universität Innsbruck veranstaltet. Wie in den vergangenen Jahren soll diese Veranstaltung europäische Wissenschaftler, die sich mit dem Thema Asset Management beschäftigen, zusammenbringen, um sich über die neuesten Forschungsergebnisse auszutauschen und künftige Zusammenarbeit zu fördern. Die Teilnahme ist kostenfrei und offen für alle…