Cross-sectoral Energetic Use of Biomethane and Hydrogen from Sewage Treatment Plants (GreenGas)

At Berlin’s sewage treatment plants, biogas is produced from sewage sludge which is used by cogeneration plants for production of electricity and heat on-site. However, some of the energy gets lost as excess heat. In addition, the benefit for climate protection is limited by the rising share of renewable energy sources in the grid power mix.

In the future, the entire potential of these “green gases” for climate protection could be tapped if biogas and other energy sources derived from wastewater or waste streams were fully used in the transport, industrial and heat supply sectors in buildings.This includes, among other things, the use of biogas which is purified to biomethane, but also the production of “green” hydrogen from process water which is generated by renewable power via electrolysis, This power-to-gas concept can be an important contribution of sewage treatment plants to the energy transition.

However, the technical realisation of such concepts, but also the legal and economic framework conditions are so complex that they have not been implemented so far. The “GreenGas” project will therefore develop various scenarios for a viable sector coupling in cooperation with Berliner Wasserbetriebe, Berliner Stadtwerke and Veolia Deutschland and evaluate them in terms of their technical, economic and ecological benefits.

The results will be used to determine the entire potential of “green gas” for its contribution to climate protection in the Berlin-Brandenburg region.

The project is being funded under the project title “Green Gas – Biomethane and Hydrogen for Sector Coupling and Climate Protection” in the Berlin Programme on Sustainable Development (BENE #1292-B5-O) and also receives sponsorship from Berliner Wasserbetriebe, Berliner Stadtwerke and Veolia Deutschland.

 

Picture and teaser photo show an example of a biological methanation plant for the production of biomethane (location: Allendorf (Eder), Germany)
© Eva Sonnleitner / CC BY-SA (https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/4.0)

Financing

Sektorübergreifende energetische Nutzung von Biomethan und Wasserstoff aus Klärwerken (GrünesGas)

Auf den Berliner Klärwerken wird aus Klärschlamm Faulgas gewonnen, das momentan vor Ort in Blockheizkraftwerken in Strom und Wärme umgewandelt wird. Dabei geht allerdings Überschusswärme verloren. Zusätzlich wird der positive Effekt für den Klimaschutz durch den zunehmenden Anteil regenerativer Energien im Stromnetz begrenzt.

Zukünftig könnte das Potential dieser „grünen Gase“ zum Klimaschutz voll ausgeschöpft werden, wenn Faulgase und andere aus Abwasser oder Abfallströmen gewonnene Energieträger in weiteren Sektoren wie Verkehr, Industrie und Wärmeversorgung in Gebäuden eingesetzt würden. Dazu zählt unter anderem zu Biomethan aufgereinigtes Faulgas, aber auch die Produktion von „grünem“ Wasserstoff aus Prozesswasser, der mit erneuerbarem Strom über Elektrolyse erzeugt wird. Ein solches Power-to-Gas Konzept kann auf den Klärwerken einen wichtigen Beitrag für die Energiewende leisten.

Die technische Realisierung dieser Konzepte, aber auch die rechtlichen und wirtschaftlichen Rahmenbedingungen sind jedoch so komplex, dass sie bisher noch nicht umgesetzt wurden. Das Projekt „Grünes Gas“ wird daher in Zusammenarbeit mit den Berliner Wasserbetrieben, den Berliner Stadtwerken und Veolia Deutschland verschiedene Szenarien für eine tragfähige Sektorenkopplung entwickeln und diese technisch, ökonomisch und ökologisch bewerten.

Mit den Ergebnissen soll dann das gesamte Potential von „Grünem Gas“ als Beitrag für den Klimaschutz in der Region Berlin-Brandenburg ermittelt werden.

Das Vorhaben wird unter dem Projekttitel „Grünes Gas – Biomethan und Wasserstoff für Sektorenkopplung und Klimaschutz“ im Berliner Programm für Nachhaltige Entwicklung (BENE #1292-B5-O) gefördert und erhält zusätzlich Sponsoringmittel von der Berliner Wasserbetrieben, den Berliner Stadtwerken und Veolia Deutschland.

 

Beitragsbild und Teaserfoto zeigen beispielhaft eine biologische Methanisierungsanlage zur Herstellung von Biomethan (Standort: Allendorf (Eder), Deutschland).
© Eva Sonnleitner / CC BY-SA (https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/4.0)

Finanzierung