Concepts for Phosphorus Recovery and Recycling from Sewage Sludge and Sewage Sludge Ash for Berlin and Surrounding Areas (bePhor)

The new German Sewage Sludge Ordinance of 2017 obliges all operators of large wastewater treatment plants from 2029 onwards to recover phosphorus.This finite resource is an important component of plant fertilizers. This ordinance also applies to all Berlin sewage treatment plants. The 6-month project bePhor will help to prepare a recycling concept, which is technically and economically viable in the long term and adapted to the specific requirements of the Berlin sewage treatment plants.

Against this background, Berlin’s six wastewater treatment plants have to prepare the implementation of corresponding recovery units. After all, the phosphorus potential in the wastewater might cover around 65% of the mineral P fertilizer needs of Berlin and Brandenburg.

The 6-month project bePhor will help to prepare a decision-making basis for the development of a holistic recycling concept adapted to the specific requirements of Berlin’s wastewater treatment plants, which in the long term is technically and economically viable. The scenarios to be investigated include the integrated phosphorus recovery from sewage sludge and the downstream recovery from sewage sludge ash. The project addresses the question to what extent a technical and long term economically viable integration into the Berlin wastewater treatment plants is possible. The results will be evaluated in cooperation with experts from the Berliner Wasserbetriebe. In an external workshop, the preferred recovery concept will be presented and the exact requirements for the phosphorous recyclates will be defined. Furthermore, a consortium for the implementation phase will be established.

 

Financing

Bmbf-logo

More information

  • 47. Berliner Wasserwerkstatt: Der Weg ins Zeitalter des Phosphor-Recyclings

    26 March 2019 5:00pm7:00pm

    Berliner Wasserbetriebe, Neue Jüdenstraße 1, 10179 Berlin

Konzepte zur Phosphor-Rückgewinnung und –Recycling aus Klärschlämmen und Klärschlammaschen für Berlin und Umgebung (bePhor)

Die Novellierung der Deutschen Klärschlammverordnung von 2017 verpflichtet alle Betreiber von großen Klärwerken dazu, ab dem Jahr 2029 die im Abwasser enthaltende endliche Ressource Phosphor, wichtiger Grundstoff von Pflanzendünger, zu recyceln und wirtschaftlich verfügbar zu machen. Diese Vorgabe betrifft auch alle Berliner Klärwerke. Das 6-monatige Projekt bePhor soll dazu beitragen, ein auf die spezifischen Anforderungen der Berliner Klärwerke angepasstes langfristig technisch und wirtschaftlich tragfähiges Recyclingkonzept vorzubereiten.

Damit sind die sechs Berliner Klärwerke aufgefordert, sich auf eine entsprechende technische Erweiterung ihres Betriebs vorzubereiten. Immerhin haben sie das Potenzial, ca. 65 % des mineralischen P-Düngemittelbedarfs von Berlin und Brandenburg decken zu können.

Das 6-monatige Vorhaben bePhor soll dazu beitragen, Entscheidungsgrundlagen für ein ganzheitliches auf die spezifischen Anforderungen der Berliner Klärwerke angepasstes Recyclingkonzept, was langfristig technisch und wirtschaftlich tragfähig ist, vorzubereiten. Im Rahmen des Vorhabens zu untersuchende Szenarien sind die integrierte Phosphor-Rückgewinnung aus Klärschlamm sowie die nachgeschaltete Rückgewinnung aus der Klärschlammasche. Hier soll geprüft werden, inwieweit eine technische und langfristig wirtschaftlich tragfähige Integration in die Berliner Klärwerke möglich ist. Die Ergebnisse werden mit Fachleuten der Berliner Wasserbetriebe evaluiert. In einem externen Workshop soll das präferierte Rückgewinnungskonzept präsentiert werden mit dem Ziel, die genauen Anforderungen an die Phosphor-Rezyklate zu definieren und einen Verbund für die Umsetzungsphase aufzubauen.

Finanzierung

Bmbf-logo