MIA-CSO – Monitoring and Impact Assessment of Combined Sewer Overflows

Development of a management tool with regard to the conceptual and investment planning of the Berlin combined sewer system

Among urban discharges the impact from combined sewer overflows (CSO) on surface waters plays a prominent role (long term accumulation of nutrients, suspended solids or toxic substances and especially short term aesthetic, toxic and hygienic impacts). MIA-CSO will provide a better process understanding of the impact of CSO on stagnant lowland rivers. The project is based on the experiences gained during the projects SAM-CSO and MONITOR-1.

The overall objective of MIA-CSO is to develop a model-based planning instrument for impact based CSO control. This tool is based on:

  • Data from two years integrated monitoring carried out in river Spree and in the Berlin sewer system at one important CSO. Online sensors will be used in order to gain continuous information on flows and water quality. This monitoring will be the basis for process understanding as well as model adaptation, calibration and validation.
  • Development of a methodology for the assessment of CSO impacts on the receiving water
  • A module for statistical analysis of simulation results for evaluation of management strategies
  • Application of the OpenMI for linking the submodels for sewer system and river water quality as well as the module for statistical analysis

The planning instrument for impact based CSO control will be demonstrated within a case study on an inner city stretch of the Berlin river Spree and will then be transferred for conceptual and investment planning of the Berlin combined sewer system.

Financing

More information

  • Impacts of Combined Sewer Overflows on Urban Waters: Challenges and Solutions for European Citi...

    6 November 2013

    Final Workshop of KWB Project MIA-CSO at the International Water Week in Amsterdam Urban surface waters play an important role for the diversity of a city, the recreation of its citizens, the urban microclimate and in some cases also for drinking water quality. However, urban lake and river ecosystems are exposed to various stressors – among them combined sewer overflows (CSO) – whose…

  • Combined Sewer Management and Water Resources Protection – Measures, Concepts and Researc...

    29 March 2011

  • Integriertes Monitoring von Mischwassereinleitungen in die Berliner Stadtspree – Start de...

    20 April 2010

    Kick-off event of project MIA-CSO on 20 April 2010 Venue: Cast Collection of Ancient Sculpture, Berlin-Charlottenburg During heavy storm events, a mixture of rainwater and wastewater, so-called combined water, is discharged from approx. 100 points of Berlin’s sewer system directly into the surface water. Despite numerous expensive retention measures which have either been implemented already…

MIA-CSO – Monitoring und Impaktbewertung von Mischwasserüberläufen

Entwicklung eines Management Tools mit Blick auf die konzeptionelle Planung und Investitionsplanung der Berliner Mischwasserkanalisation

Überläufe aus der Mischwasserkanalisation haben eine bedeutende Einwirkung auf die Gewässerqualität und stellen eines der wichtigsten Managementprobleme in urbanen Fließgewässern dar. MIA-CSO dient der Verbesserung des Kenntnisstandes hinsichtlich der Wirkung von Mischwassereinleitungen auf stauregulierte und langsam fließende Tieflandgewässer. Das Projekt basiert auf den Erfahrungen und Ergebnissen, die im Rahmen der Projekte MONITOR-1 und SAM-CSO gewonnen wurden.

Ziel des Projektes ist es, ein Management-Tool für die Bewertung der Auswirkungen von Mischwasserüberläufen auf betroffene Gewässer zu entwickeln. Dieses Tool basiert auf folgenden Komponenten:

  • Daten aus einem zweijährigen Monitoring an einer repräsentativen Mischwassereinleitung und parallel dazu in dem Gewässerabschnitt Stadtspree. Gewässergüteparameter und Wassermengen werden kontinuierlich mittels online Sonden gemessen. Die gewonnen Daten werden genutzt, um einerseits die mischwasserbedingten Prozesse im Gewässer zu beschreiben und andererseits das verwendete Gewässergütemodel des Gewässerabschnitts Stadtspree zu kalibrieren und validieren.
  • Entwicklung einer Methode zur immissionsbasierten Bewertung der Gewässerbelastung durch Mischwasserüberläufe.
  • Modul für die statistische Analyse der Simulationsergebnisse für die Bewertung von Management Strategien.
  • Anwendung der Software Schnittstelle (z.B. OpenMI) zur Kopplung der Teilmodelle für das Entwässerungssystem und das Gewässer sowie das Statistik-Modul.

Das Management Tool wird innerhalb einer Fallstudie in Berlin (Stauhaltung Charlottenburg) validiert und dann für die konzeptionelle Planung und Investitionsplanung der Berliner Mischwasserkanalisation eingesetzt.

Finanzierung

Mehr Informationen

  • Auswirkung von Mischwasserüberläufen auf urbane Gewässer

    6. November 2013

    Abschluss-Workshop des KWB-Projektes MIA-CSO auf der International Water Week in Amsterdam Die städtischen Oberflächengewässer spielen eine wichtige Rolle für die Vielgestaltigkeit einer Stadt, für die Erholungs- und Freizeitmöglichkeiten ihrer Einwohner, das urbane Mikroklima und in einigen Fällen auch für die Qualität des Trinkwassers. Jedoch sind die aquatischen Ökosysteme der Stadt…

  • Mischwassermanagement und Gewässerschutz – Maßnahmen, Konzepte und Forschung

    29. März 2011

  • Integriertes Monitoring von Mischwassereinleitungen in die Berliner Stadtspree – Start de...

    20. April 2010

    Auftaktveranstaltung des Vorhabens MIA-CSO am 20. April 2010 in der  Abguss-Sammlung Antiker Plastik Berlin-Charlottenburg Bei starken Regenfällen läuft ein Gemisch aus Regenwasser und Abwasser, so genanntes Mischwasser, an ca. 100 Stellen aus der Kanalisation direkt in die Gewässer. Trotz einer Vielzahl von bereits umgesetzten und noch geplanten kostenintensiven Rückhaltemaßnahmen lassen…